Twitter Updates

Thursday, June 22, 2006

Call Your Senators for Net Neutrality

call senate Today is crunch time to call your Senators, Christy Hardin Smith explains:

It's time to hit the phones, everyone. I am told that the Senate Commerce Committee will be doing bill mark-up today, and that the net neutrality vote will be pushed off until probably Tuesday.

And that we are one vote short at the moment for killing the Stevens bill in the Committee.

Yep, that's right: one vote. So here are the Senators on the bubble:

John McCain (AZ): (202) 224-2235; Fax: (202) 228-2862

Trent Lott (MS): (202) 224-6253; Fax: (202) 224-2262

Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX): 202-224-5922; 202-224-0776 (FAX)

Olympia J. Snowe (ME): (202) 224-5344; FAX (202) 224-1946

Gordon H. Smith (OR): 202.224.3753; Fax: 202.228.3997

George Allen (VA): (202) 224-4024; Fax: (202) 224-5432

Bill Nelson (FL): 202-224-5274; Fax: 202-228-2183

Maria Cantwell (WA): 202-224-3441; 202-228-0514 - FAX

Frank R. Lautenberg (NJ): (202) 224-3224; Fax: (202) 228-4054

E. Benjamin Nelson (NE): Tel: (202) 224-6551; Fax: (202) 228-0012

Mark Pryor (AR): (202) 224-2353; Fax: (202) 228-0908

Please contact all of them and let them know how you feel about net neutrality. Please, if you are a resident of their state, make it a point to call or fax today, and every day, until the vote.

Here-s the math on this:

There are 12 Republicans and 10 Democrats on the committee...we need 12 votes to win. If all the Dems (including Pryor and Ben Nelson) plus Snowe go our way, we are at 11...clearing the way for any one of Smith, McCain, Allen, Lott Hutchison to be the final vote that puts us over the top.

Here is a listing of the full committee membership, phone and fax numbers -- we cannot take any vote for granted, so if you have the time, hit every member of the committee.

You know what to do.

No comments: